A dialogue between two masterpieces

Format: HD
Duration: 73’
More details
Less details
Available version: Non verbal
Rights: All Rights | Worldwide


Eight seasons: four from Vivaldi and four from Piazzolla. This concert takes us on a voyage spanning two centuries and two hemispheres.

One of the best-loved works in the classical repertoire, Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons stands in sharp contrast to the urban, stilted atmosphere of Piazzolla’s compositions. Brought together in the same programme, the two works establish a sparkling dialogue. In Vivaldi’s piece, wailing wind and birdsong are represented figuratively while the Argentinian maestro focuses on the feelings and moods of the city, with tango to reflect the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires.

The Hong Kong Philharmonic accompanies the outstanding violin virtuoso Henning Kraggerud in this musical confrontation between two masterpieces.